Stuffed Red Peppers

IMG_5222

 Who doesn’t LOVE stuffed peppers?  These are so delicious and easy to make.  It’s my new favorite “go to” recipe because it’s simple and uses ingredients I usually keep on hand.  It’s perfect for using up leftover rice.  Plus, it’s vegetarian and gluten free!

  • 4 Red Peppers
  • 1 C White Basmati Rice – uncooked (or Brown Rice if you prefer)
  • 2 C Water or Broth for cooking the rice
  • 1 Can Black Beans in water
  • 1/2 Red Onion – diced
  • 1/4 C Cilantro – chopped
  • 1 Roma Tomato – diced
  • Feta Cheese
  • Juice of a Lime
  • 1/4 C Salsa
  • 2 tsp Chili Powder
  • 2 tsp ground Cumin
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • Cheese to top

I have a gas top stove, and after washing my red peppers, I place one pepper right on top of each rack over the gas burners.  I let them cook there until they start to turn dark and look soft, then I use tongs to rotate them (about 30 seconds to 1 minute at a time).  I do this until all my peppers are a little browned on the outside and soft to my knife.  You can see the color of the pepper changes as it softens. (If you don’t have a gas stove top you can pre-bake your peppers whole for about ten minutes at 350 degrees or, if you use a microwave, you can nuke them for a minute or two until they are soft).

I set my hot peppers aside and get my water or broth in a pot and add my rinsed rice, placing a lid on the pot and setting it at medium heat.  I’m going to let this cook until all the moisture is absorbed, which typically takes about 20-30 minutes.

In a bowl, I add my rinsed black beans, feta cheese, diced onions, cilantro, tomato, lime juice, salsa and spices.  I toss this so it is well blended.  When my rice is done cooking, I add it to my bean/salsa mixture.  Thoroughly combine.

Now that my peppers are nice and cool, I cut them in half, coring out the middle and all the seeds.  I place them open faced in large glass baking dish (8×13) and begin to stuff the peppers with the filling.  Once they are all stuffed, I add a cheese topping.  I have tried shredded mozzarella and also sliced raw cheddar.  They are both divine, whatever cheese you have on hand will work!

Bake your stuffed peppers at 350 for 20-25 minutes, or until cheese is brown on top.

Enjoy as is, or if desired, add a dollop of sour cream and a little fresh cilantro on the side.  Enjoy!

1 thought on “Stuffed Red Peppers

Leave a comment